Palace of El Temple
The complex consisting on a monastery, school and the church of the Motesa Order is popularly known
as “El Temple” as it belonged to the Templar order in past times. It was built between 1761 and
1770 by Carlos III, after an earthquake destroyed the previous monastery. It was directly related
to the court, and the style is Italian neoclassic, as a result of the influence that its creator,
the architect Miguel Fernández, received from Sabatini, his Italian master.
The façade of the monastery is austere, with triangular pediments on the windows of the main
floor, and without columns or pilasters. The inner cloister inspires the same feeling of strength
and features stone arches at the bottom part and balconies on both floors.
The church lies in the west wing of the building and has just one sanctuary with lateral
chapels and a dome crowning the crossing. The façade shows two towers, a huge triangular pediment
and some huge columns near the doorway and balconies. The only typical Valencian features which can
be seen in this building are the glazed tiles on the towers and the dome. Once inside, we quickly
recognise the classic style of the walls, and our attention points to the high altar with a
tabernacle form, and the paintings. Today, the monastery is the seat of the Gobierno Civil