Santo Domingo de Bonaval Church and Convent
According to old documents, the convent was built in 1228, which means that it was erected along with the city and the St. James discovery. The actual name of Santo Domingo was given in the 15th century. The building shows an intermediate style that corresponds to the Romanesque and Gothic transition.
It has three naves separated by semicircular arches and a major chapel with high windows and a ribbed vault. The interior can be accessed through the convent, in which four Gothic sepulchres stand out on either side of the altar.
The “Panteón de Gallegos Ilustres” (Illustrious Galician Pantheon) is located in one of the lateral chapels, where Rosalía de Castro, Castelao, Alfredo Brañas, Ramón Cabanillas and Francisco Asorey are buried, among others. This the reason why this temple is associated with the Galician memoire.