Palace of La Magdalena
This Palace is located on the Magdalena Peninsula. Built between 1909 and 1911 to house the Royal Spanish family. Designed by architects Javier González Riancho and Gonzalo Bringas Vega and furnished in 1913. It immediately became King Alfonso XIII and his family's summer residence. They visited it regularly until the II Republic was proclaimed.
Javier González Riancho designed the stables in 1914. They imitate a medieval English town with sharp-ended, steep-slopped roofs, and wooden structures. The style is eclectic and combines English influences that can be seen in the outer structure, the abundance of chimneys, the shape of the windows, with French style contributions such as the double-flight main staircase, the asymmetry of the buildings, and some characteristic regional touches.
It has two entrances, one on the North for carriages, with a porch, and the other one on the South, the main entrance with two octagonal turrets and a main double-flight staircase. The building is made of rubblework stone with slate coverings. Inside the building the reception halls stand out -they keep some paintings of interest by Benedito, Sorolla, Sotomayor, etc. Since 1932, the Palace houses the Universidad Internacional Menéndez Pelayo. In 1993 it was refurbished by the Santander Town Hall according to a project by Luis de la Fuente.