Chamber of Comptos
The Chamber of Comptos is located on Calle Ansoleaga. It was an old palace before becoming the head office of the “Tribunal de Cuentas” (Audit Court) of the Kingdom from 1525 to 1836. King Charles II built it to reinforce control over royal finances. Although this Chamber disappeared in 1836, it was reestablished in 1980 as an autonomous body for controlling public accountancy.
Coins from the different Navarre reigns as well as financial documents signed by the kings are kept inside this Chamber. This medieval building, dating from the 13th century, is considered to be the sole Gothic civil building in Pamplona.
The pointed arch at the main entrance and the reduced pointed windows highlight. By the middle 18th century, a coat of arms picturing the royal arms of Spain was put on the door. As peculiarity, a small passage covered by a pointed barrel vault leading to a beautiful garden with a water well is remarkable.