Palace of the Dukes of Infantado
El Infantado Palace is the emblematic building of the city. It is located in the site that, in the
14th Century, had already been used by the first Mendoza of La Alcarria, don Pedro González, to
build his main houses. Successively reformed by other primogenitures of the same lineage, and among
them, the first Marquis of Santillana, who lived in those houses for long periods of time and kept
their main library and studio, it was by 1480 that the second Duke of Infantado, Don Iñigo López de
Mendoza, decided to demolish them and build a new and glamorous palace building for himself.
In 1936 it was bombed and destroyed. A complete restoration has brought back its primitive
splendour during the last years. The most impressive part of the El Infantado Palace is the façade.
It combines a very attractive mixture of styles, since the flamboyant Gothic goes hand in hand with
the Mudejar elements as well as with varied details of the advance Renaissance. In that façade, the
off-centered door can be seen, on which the great ducal coat of arms that reveals the majesty of
the Mendoza last name stands out from the palace façade. Inside the palace, its ancient coffered
Mudejar ceilings are no longer there since they were lost as a consequence of the 1936 bombing.
However, in the lower rooms, we can still admire the Mannerist paintings that Romulo Cincinato
created in the late 16th Century, with varied illustrations corresponding to the Mendoza family
history and other mythological compositions.