The Museum, created by Decree the 28th March of 1933, was first opened with the pieces of the Diputación Provincial -Provincial Council- of Almería and the Provincial Committee of Monuments. Initially, it was located in the calle Javier Sanz sharing the premises with the Escuela de Artes y Oficios -Technical School- and then in the Instituto de Enseñanza Media -Secondary School- Celia Viñas. The museum was given the name of Luis Siret in memory of the distinguished archaeologist. The collections and the building were declared Historic-Artistic Monument in 1962. Since 1979 the museum belongs to the State which decided to place it in the Colegio Menor Santa María del Mar in 1981. The inauguration of the new site took place the 22nd October of 1982 and in 1994 its denomination changed to Museum of Almería.
Due to structural problems, the building had to be closed the 15th June of 1991, mainly the exhibition galleries and the auditorium and only the rest of the services (library, archive, the atelier, administration,etc.) remained open. The Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports has recently finished the construction of the new building that will hold the Museum of Almería.
The Museum shelters a great many of archaeological remains proceeding from different sites of the province of Almería. The main collection belonged to Don Juan Cuadrado and was bought by the Diputación Provincial -Provincial Council- and has been increasing due to some donations and contributions and also because of the great number of archaeological digs carried out along the years. The museum has been increasing its collections and, today, holds great cultural collections from the Palaeolithic to the end of the Middle Ages.